Francais - English

NEWS

Meier’s “Home” presented in avant-premiere in New York


Selected as Swiss title in the nomination race for the Best Foreign Language Film Oscar, Swiss-French director Ursula Meier’s debut feature for the big screen, Home, is being released theatrically in several US cities on November 27 by Lorber Films. There was an avant-premiere screening of the film, attended by actress Isabelle Huppert and the director, in New York on November 13.

At the begin of november, the film was among the eight European features in the race for Best Foreign Language Film, presented by European Film Promotion to distributors and members of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences at the American Film Market in Los Angeles.

Unveiled in Critics’ Week at Cannes 2008, Home has won a myriad of accolades at numerous international festivals. The film, co-produced by Switzerland’s Box Productions, Belgium’s Need Productions and France’s Archipel 35, received three nominations for the 2009 Cesars and swept up three Quartz trophies at the Swiss Film Awards, the highest distinction in Switzerland.

The Oscar nominations will be announced on February 2, 2010 and the 81st Academy Awards ceremony will take place on March 7.

Info Cineuropa – Geneviève Rossier, Françoise Deriaz

Francais - English

ACTUALITÉS

« Home », d’Ursula Meier en avant-première à New York

Proposé par la Suisse aux nominations pour l’Oscar du meilleur film de langue étrangère, Home, premier long métrage de fiction de cinéma de la réalisatrice franco-suisse Ursula Meier, sort en salles aux Etats-Unis le 27 novembre (distribution: Lorber Films) dans plusieurs villes. Une avant-première du film en présence de l’actrice Isabelle Huppert et de la réalisatrice a eu lieu le 13 novembre à New York.

Début novembre, le film figurait au nombre des huit longs métrages européens sur les rangs pour du meilleur film de langue étrangère que l’European Film Promotion a présenté aux distributeurs et aux membres de l’Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences à l’American Film Market à Los Angeles.
Révélé par la Semaine de la critique du Festival de Cannes en 2008, Home a remporté une myriade de distinctions dans de nombreux festivals internationaux. Coproduit par Box Productions (Suisse), Need Productions (Belgique) et Archipel 35 (France), il comptait trois nominations aux Césars 2009 et a raflé trois Quartz au Prix du Cinéma Suisse – la plus haute distinction helvétique.

Les nominations pour l’Oscar sont annoncées le 2 février 2010 et la 81e cérémonie de remise des statuettes a lieu le 7 mars.

Info Cineuropa par Geneviève Rossier, Françoise Deriaz